Saturday, September 30, 2023


AFCON qualifiers: Osimhen, Awoniyi, Chukwueze make Eagles squad for Sierra Leone clash

AFCON qualifiers: Osimhen, Awoniyi, Chukwueze make Eagles squad for Sierra Leone clash
June 09
13:56 2023

Jose Peseiro, the head coach of the Super Eagles, has named his 23-man squad for the upcoming African Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifying game against Sierra Leone.

The list was unveiled in a statement released by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Thursday.

Peseiro invited the in-form Serie A duo of Victor Osimhen, Ademola Lookman, while Kelechi Iheanacho, and Samuel Chukwueze also made the list.

Taiwo Awoniyi returned as Alex Iwobi, Frank Onyeka, and Wilfred Ndidi were named in the midfield.


William Troost-Ekong also got back into the fold alongside Kenneth Omeruo, Zaidu Sanusi, Calvin Bassey and Oluwasemilogo Ajayi in defence.

Four home-based players — Victor Sochima, Olorunleke Ojo, Ebube Duru and Divine Nwachukwu — also made the cut.

Nigeria will play Sierra Leone at the Samuel Kanyon Doe Stadium in Monrovia, Liberia, on June 18.


The match will hold in Liberia due to the fact that Leone Stars have no stadium in Sierra Leone approved for international matches.

The Super Eagles are top of their qualification group with nine points out of four matches, followed by Guinea Bissau, who have seven points.

Sierra Leone are on five points, while Sao Tome and Principe, who play the Super Eagles on the final day of the series in September, are bottom with only one point.



Goalkeepers: Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Calvin Bassey (Ajax FC, The Netherlands); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Chidiebube Duru (Rivers United); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Divine Nwachukwu (Bendel Insurance); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Moses Simon (Nantes FC, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey)



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying!