Africa to get nine slots in 2026 World Cup

Africa will be allotted nine automatic slots at the 2026 World Cup, as part of FIFA’s proposed expansion of the tournament.

This would be an increase from the five slots that the continent is currently entitled to.

A tenth African country will take part in a six-nation playoff tournament to decide the last two spots.

“The Bureau of the FIFA Council, comprised of the FIFA President and the president of each of the six confederations, agreed on (the) proposed allocation,” the FIFA statement said.


Europe will get 16 direct slots while the Asian Football Federation will get eight direct slots.

Oceania Football Confederation will get one slot while CONCACAF and South America’s CONMEBOL are each allotted six direct slots.

Meanwhile, the host country would automatically qualify for the World Cup. Its slot would be taken from the quota of its confederation.


In the event of co-hosting, the number of host countries to qualify automatically would be decided by the FIFA council.

FIFA members voted in January to expand the World Cup from 32 to 48 teams, starting with the 2026 edition.

Below is the proposed allocation of slots for the 2026 World Cup.



8 direct slots – increased from 4.5 


9 direct slots – increased from 5

North and Central America:


6 direct slots – increased from 3.5

South America:


6 direct slots – increased from 4.5



1 direct slot – increased from 0.5



16 direct slots – increased from 13

Final two places in 2026 to be decided by six-team playoffs.

Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected from copying.