Saturday, August 13, 2022


Akpabio, Ogbonnaya Onu resign to pursue presidential bids

Akpabio, Ogbonnaya Onu resign to pursue presidential bids
May 11
21:47 2022

Godswill Akpabio, minister of Niger Delta affairs, and Ogbonnaya Onu, minister of science and technology, have resigned their appointments.

The ministers resigned following President Muhammadu Buhari’s directive ordering members of the federal executive council seeking elective offices to resign on or before Monday.

Jackson Udom, media aide to Akpabio, confirmed the resignation of his principal in a statement issued on Wednesday, while Onu was said to have submitted his resignation letter to the office of the secretary to the government of the federation (SGF).

“Yes. He has just submitted his nomination form to the organising secretary of the party,” Udom told TheCable in a text message.


The development comes after the announcement of the resignation of Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, minister of state for education.

Nwajiuba was said to have tendered his resignation on April 28, while President Muhammadu Buhari announced the development at the federal executive committee (FEC) meeting on Wednesday.

Tolu Ogunlesi, an aide to the president, in a tweet on Wednesday, also said two minister had resigned, while a third minister had “reportedly resigned”.


“So far, two ministers have now resigned from the Federal Executive Council (FEC) to pursue their presidential aspirations,” Ogunlesi tweeted.

“A third minister has now reportedly resigned. Also to pursue Presidential ambition.”

The trio are seeking to clinch the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential ticket ahead of the 2023 general election.

No fewer than 27 hopefuls are jostling to be the flagbearer of the party.

Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Bola Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos; and Rotimi Amaechi, transportation minister, are also among contenders for the ticket.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment