Thursday, September 24, 2020



Akpeyi dropped, Iheanacho picked as Rohr invites 23 for Ukraine friendly

Akpeyi dropped, Iheanacho picked as Rohr invites 23 for Ukraine friendly
August 15
14:32 2019

Gernot Rohr has called up Ahmed Musa, Victor Osimhen, Alex Iwobi, twenty others for the Super Eagles’ international friendly with the Ukraine senior national team.


The international friendly match is scheduled to take place at the Dnipro Arena on Tuesday, September 10, 2019.

Tyronne Ebuehi, who missed the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations finals due to injury, Oluwasemilogo Ajayi, Kelechi Iheanacho who all were cut from the roster just before the AFCON, have all been recalled.

England–based duo Alex Iwobi and Iheanacho have been listed in midfield roles.


Germany–based goalkeeper Emil Maduka Okoye has been invited for the first time, same as Scotland –based midfielder Joe Aribo.

South Africa–based Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi was dropped.

Goalkeepers Francis Uzoho and Ikechukwu Ezenwa, defenders William Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun and Jamilu Collins, midfielders Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo and forwards Victor Osimhen, Moses Simon, Henry Onyekuru and Samuel Chukwueze have also been called.


Ukraine is rated number 25 on the FIFA ranking while Nigeria is 33rd.

Twenty three Super Eagles for Ukraine friendly:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Emil Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Benfica, Portugal); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)


Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Joe Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (AS Monaco, France); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment