Tuesday, October 4, 2022


Cable Ads

Akwa United defeat MFM to win first-ever NPFL title

Akwa United defeat MFM to win first-ever NPFL title
August 01
18:56 2021

Akwa United have emerged winner of the 2020/21 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) after a 2-0 win over MFM.

United won their first ever league title on Sunday at the Uyo stadium.

The Kennedy Boboye’s boys top the NPFL log with 71 point to claim the title after twenty-five years of waiting.

TheCable looks at how teams fared across four venues on matchday 37 as the league draws to a close.


Akwa United 5-2 MFM

A Charles Atshimene hat-trick, a goal by Mfom Udoh and an own goal by Adebayo Alimi in 45+2 minutes gave the Uyo-based side all they needed to win the thrilling encounter.

But Dennis Obasi and Michael Mbonu netted two consolatory goals for the Olukoya boys.


Warri Wolves 1-0 Heartland

Emmanuel Ihezuo’s 60th minute spot kick was the difference between Warri Wolves and Heartland.

Plateau United 2-0 Dakkada

Buhari Ibrahim and Ochowechi’s 52nd and 75th minutes goals respectively ensured Plateau United earned all three points at stake.


Katsina United 1-0 Abia Warriors

Mansoor Aliyu’s 40th minute goal was enough to secure victory for the Changi boys.

Five other matches will take place on Monday:

Adamawa vs Kwara United
Enyimba vs Sunshine Stars
Nasarawa vs Rangers Int’l
Rivers Utd vs Lobi Stars
Kano Pillars vs Wikki Tourists
Jigawa GS 1-1 FC Ifeanyi Ubah



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment