APPLY: EU-ECOWAS launches post-graduate scholarship programme on sustainable energy

The European Union (EU) in partnership with the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has launched a post-graduate scholarship programme on sustainable energy.

The programme, for nationals from West African countries and Mauritania, provides scholarships in specialised universities in Nigeria, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Senegal and Togo. The British Council is implementing the programme.

Applications to universities in Nigeria, Senegal, and Cape Verde are now open until November 29, 2022 at 18.00 WAT.

Speaking at the physical launch of the programme on Tuesday at the ECOWAS commission in Abuja, Cecile Tassin-Pelzer, head of cooperation, EU delegation to Nigeria and the ECOWAS, said the scholarship is part of efforts to ensure that people from the region has access to clean and sustainable energy.


“During the African Union-European summit earlier this year, we launched the Africa global gateway investment package,” she said.

“It brings €150 billion in investment to Africa to consolidate existing investments and to launch new ones.

“In the framework of the new multi-annual indicative programme 2021- 2027 of the EU for Sub-Saharan Africa, we are planning to allocate €600 million of grants funding in the sustainable energy sector in West Africa alone.


“As demonstrated by this programme, the EU is also available to support the human capital development accompanying this transition.”

Alex Lambert, country director for the British Council in Senegal and senior responsible officer for the scholarship programme, said nine higher education institutions were selected, taking into cognisance course curriculum, infrastructure and ability to receive foreign students.

“The opportunity is open to all the citizens of ECOWAS and Mauritania who have a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, energy and environment, law, economics, finance and planning,” he said.

“Seventy-five applicants will be selected from the programme. They may apply to any of the nine institutions in any of the six countries and special consideration will be given to female applicants.


“I’m delighted to share that so far, three calls for applications were launched, starting with one university in Togo, one in Côte d’Ivoire and one in Ghana last month. Some scholars have already begun their studies.”

The universities to be applied to in Nigeria include Obafemi Awolowo University, University of Ibadan and University of Nigeria.

Part of the eligibility requirements include a bachelor’s degree with first class or second class (upper division) in electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, energy and environment (including renewable energy and energy efficiency), law, economics, finance and planning as deemed by the entry requirements of the chosen university.

Work experience in the energy sector in West Africa will be an added advantage.


The scholarships will be mobile (candidates will be selected to complete the programme outside their country of residence) and stationary (programmes in country of residence).

Sediko Douka, commissioner for infrastructure, energy and digitalisation, ECOWAS, commended the EU for contributing to sustainable energy growth in the region.


He asked the British Council to be fair to all applicants in the selection process and not to prioritise “saving costs”.

More information including the application form can be found here.

Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected from copying.