Wednesday, October 27, 2021



APPLY: Wole Soyinka Centre now accepting entries for 16th edition of its award

APPLY: Wole Soyinka Centre now accepting entries for 16th edition of its award
October 12
10:32 2021

The Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) is now accepting entries from Nigerian journalists for its annual award for investigative reporting.


The application which opened on October 4 will close on Monday, October 24, 2021.

Motunrayo Alaka, executive director/CEO of WSCIJ, in a statement, said stories from the print, online, photo, cartoon, television and radio genres of the media, published between October 4, 2020, and October 3, 2021, are qualified to apply, while all entries are to be submitted online

“WSCIJ introduced the portal for application for all categories of the award in 2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and to encourage journalists who otherwise would not apply because of long-distance and the cost of sending hardcopy applications to apply,” Alaka said.


“Submitted works that meet the entry criteria will be coded by WSCIJ to conceal the identity of authors and their media houses and scored by an independent Judges’ Board based on quality of investigation, evidence, human rights elements, ethical reportage, courage, individual creativity, public interest, impact and quality of presentation.

“The judges’ board is made up of seasoned media practitioners, academic and journalism veterans with good understanding of investigative reporting and its public policy implications.

“The WSCIJ remains committed to rewarding best practices in the media through the award which has produced 102 finalists, 52 Soyinka Laureates, and 11 investigative journalists of the year. It has also made 24 honorary decorations for the lifetime award for journalistic excellence and the anti-corruption/human rights defender awards.”



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment