Aubameyang, Mahrez, Mane for 2016 CAF player award

Current African footballer of the year, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon will compete with Algerian Riyad Mahrez and Andrew Sadio Mane of Senegal for the 2016 edition of the award.

The trio were announced in a statement by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Thursday.

Aubameyang‎ is the current holder of the award for the year 2015.

“The trio made the cut following votes from Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF, Media Committee, Technical & Football committee and a panel of Media Experts,” the statement read.

Egypt’s Mohamed Salah and Islam Slimani of Algeria failed to make the final list.

For the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa), Ugandan Goal Keeper is in contention with the Zimbabwean forward Khama Billiat and the Zambian Midfilder Rainford Kalaba .

The winners will be unveiled at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala on Thursday, 5 January 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

The top three (in alphabetical order):

African Player of the Year
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
Sadio Mané (Senegal & Liverpool)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe)