Wednesday, October 27, 2021



AWCON qualifiers: Oshoala, Ordega make Waldrum’s squad for Ghana clash

AWCON qualifiers: Oshoala, Ordega make Waldrum’s squad for Ghana clash
October 12
21:58 2021

Randy Waldrum, Super Falcons head coach, has named 23 players for the 2022 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) qualifiers against Ghana later this month.


Waldrum kept faith with his regulars as the nine-time African champions continue their quest to book a ticket for the tournament billed for Morrocco next year.

Those included in the list are Asisat Oshoala, Francisca Ordega, Onome Ebi, Rasheedat Ajibade, and Ikechukwu Vivian.

Others on the roster include Desire Oparanozie, Osinachi Ohale, Regina Otu, Uchenna Kanu and Rita Chikwelu.


The team is expected to commence training on Sunday in Lagos ahead of the encounter’s first leg on October 20 at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena before the reversed fixture in Accra four days later.

The tie winner will join Morocco and ten other countries for the tournament next year.

See the full list below:


Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Maccabi Kishronot Hadera, Israel); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Yewande Balogun (California Storm, USA)

Defenders: Onome Ebi (Minsk FC, Belarus); Glory Ogbonna (Umea FC, Sweden); Osinachi Ohale (Deportivo Alaves, Spain); Ayomide Ojo (Edo Queens); Rafiat Imuran (Rivers Angels); Opeyemi Sunday (Edo Queens); Oluwatosin Demehin (Rivers Angels); Akudo Ogbonna (Edo Queens)

Midfielders: Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Toni Oyedupe Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (Minsk FC, Belarus); Goodness Onyebuchi (Edo Queens); Joy Bokiri (AIK FC, Sweden)

Forwards: Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Francisca Ordega (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Gift Monday (FC Robo Queens); Uchenna Kanu (Linkopings FC, Sweden); Desire Oparanozie (Dijon FC, France); Vivian Ikechukwu (Rivers Angels)



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment