Tuesday, July 5, 2022


APC takes over Bayelsa, defeats PDP with over 200,000 votes

APC takes over Bayelsa, defeats PDP with over 200,000 votes
November 17
22:32 2019

David Lyon, candidate of the the All Progressives Congress (APC), has secured the highest number of votes in the Bayelsa governorship election.

Lyon defeated Douye Diri, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in six out of eight locals government areas of the state.

The APC polled 352,552 while PDP secured 143,172 votes, leaving a margin of 209,382.

This is the first time an opposition party would win a governorship election in the oil-rich state since the return of democracy in 1999.


The state, which was created in 1996, has always been governed by the PDP.

Below are the scores from each local government area as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at the state collation centre in Yenagoa.

Sagbama LGA


APC – 7, 831
PDP- 60, 339

Brass LGA

APC – 23, 831
PDP- 10, 410

Nembe LGA


APC – 83, 041
PDP- 874

Ekeremor LGA

APC – 21, 489
PDP- 18, 344

Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA


APC – 8, 934
PDP- 15, 360

Ogbia LGA


APC – 58, 016
PDP- 13, 763

Southern-Ijaw LGA


APC – 124, 803
PDP- 4, 898

Yenagoa LGA

APC – 24, 607
PDP- 19, 184

INEC is about making final pronouncement on the election.


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment