Tuesday, November 30, 2021



Fayemi wins Ekiti APC governorship primary

Fayemi wins Ekiti APC governorship primary
May 12
21:52 2018

Kayode Fayemi, minister of solid minerals, has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in Ekiti.


The former governor of the state secured the most votes in the rescheduled exercise held on Saturday.

Fayemi took a total of 941 votes, which put him a mile ahead of other aspirants.

Tanko Al-Makura, governor of Nasarawa state and chairman of the committee overseeing the electoral process, had confirmed that 2, 327 delegates were accredited for the exercise.


The aspirants who came closest to Fayemi are Segun Oni who secured 481 votes, Kayode Ojo (281), Olufemi Richard Bamisile (179), Oluyede Oluwole (121), and Aluko Daniel Olugbenga (86).

Adekunle Patrick was the only aspirant without a vote while Ajayi Adebowale Oluranti and Elizabeth Taiye had one each. Coker Olumuyiwa, Olumilua Olumuyiwa, Ajayi Olatunji and Ayodele Arise secured two votes apiece.

Despite withdrawing from the race, Babafemi Ojudu still managed to get 10 votes.


The election was disrupted last Saturday by some party agents who alleged that the exercise was fraudulent.

The rescheduled primary election took place at Damlek Event Centre, Ado-Ekiti, the state capital.

The winner, Fayemi, is from Isan-Ekiti in Oye-Ekiti local government area of the state.

How the top five fared

Kayode Fayemi- 941


Segun Oni- 481

Kayode Ojo- 281

Olufemi Richard Bamisile- 179

Oluyede Oluwole- 121


1 Comment

  1. Abiodun
    Abiodun May 12, 23:39

    Your comment..Fayemi really tried

    Reply to this comment

Write a Comment