INEC registers 23 new parties, extends voter registration by two weeks

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has registered 23 new political parties.

In a notice on Tuesday, the commission invited chairmen and secretaries of the party to pick up their certificates at its headquarters in Abuja on Thursday.

This brings to 91 the total number of parties in the country.

INEC has also extended the ongoing continuous voter registration (CVR) exercise by two weeks.

The commission had said it would suspend the exercise on August 17 until after the 2019 general election.

INEC also announced that the ongoing collection of permanent voter cards (PVCs) will be on till the general election.

Below is a list of the newly registered parties:

S/NName of AssociationAcronymRemark
1Advanced Alliance PartyAPP
2Advanced Nigeria Democratic PartyANDP
3African Action CongressAAC
4Alliance for a United NigeriaAUN
5Alliance of Social DemocratsASD
6Alliance National PartyANP
7Allied People’s MovementAPM
8Alternative Party of NigeriaAPN
9Change Nigeria PartyCNP
10Congress Of PatriotsCOP
11Liberation MovementLM
12Movement for Restoration and Defence of DemocracyMRDD
13Nigeria Community Movement PartyNCMP
14Nigeria For DemocracyNFD
15Peoples Coalition PartyPCP
16Reform and Advancement PartyRAP
17Save Nigeria CongressSNC
18United PatriotsUP
19United Peoples CongressUPC
20We The People NigeriaWTPN
21Yes Electorates SolidarityYES
22Youth PartyYP
23Zenith Labour PartyZLP