Wednesday, March 22, 2023



Kwankwaso, Melaye lead defection of senators to PDP

Kwankwaso, Melaye lead defection of senators to PDP
July 24
11:03 2018

Rabiu Kwankwaso, senator representing Kano central, and Dino Melaye, senator representing Kogi west, have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) from the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Melaye and Kwankwaso were among the 15 senators who announced their defection on Tuesday.

The notice of defection was contained in a letter read by Senate President Bukola Saraki on the floor of the upper legislative chamber.

The senators said they took their decision after “due consultation”.


Fourteen of the lawmakers moved to the PDP while Abdulaziz Nyako, senator representing Adamawa central, defected to Action Democratic Congress (ADC).

“Dear senate president,” the letter read.

“After due consultation, with our constituents and stakeholders in our constituency, in proper recognition section 16 (1G) of the 1999 constitution, and for the fact of our party, The All Progressives Congress, we hereby inform the senate that we the undersigned;


“We hereby inform that we are changing our political affiliation from APC TO PDP. We thank you for your exemplary leadership.”

The senators who defected to PDP

  • Dino Melaye
  • Barnabas Gemade
  • Ibrahim Danbaba
  • Shaaba Lafiaji
  • Mohammed Shittu
  • Rafiu Ibrahim
  • Suleiman Hunkuyi
  • Isa Misau
  • Monsurat Sunmonu
  • Soji Akanbi
  • Usman Nafada
  • Musa Kwankwaso
  • Suleiman Nazif
  • Lanre Tejuosho

The cross-carpeting of the lawmakers comes in the wake of the police siege on the residences of Saraki and Ike Ekweremadu, deputy senate president.

Saraki has been summoned by the police over the robbery incident which led to the loss of 20 lives in Offa, Kwara state, while the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has invited Ekweremadu over a money laundering case.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment