Wednesday, June 29, 2022


Lawan elected senate president

Lawan elected senate president
June 11
11:58 2019

Ahmad Lawan, lawmaker representing Yobe north senatorial district, has been elected president of the senate.

Lawan secured 79 votes to defeat Ali Ndume from Borno south who polled 28 votes.

Although the two contestants are of the All Progressives Congress (APC), the leadership of the ruling party had endorsed the new senate president.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had teamed up with Ndume but unlike in 2015 when Bukola Saraki, then of the APC, rode to power with the support of the PDP, the ruling party perfected its plot to ensure Lawan’s victory.


Earlier, Yayaha Abdullahi from Kebbi had nominated Lawan for the position while Solomon Olamilekan from Lagos seconded the nomination.

Ndume was nominated by Ishaku Abu from Adamawa and Barry Mpigi from Rivers seconded the nomination.

On March 1, TheCable had analysed the chances of Lawan, who had just been re-elected as a senator



  1. Valdan
    Valdan June 11, 13:59

    Your comment..Hope this may bring cooperation. with the Executive

    Reply to this comment
  2. Indarai darabo
    Indarai darabo June 11, 14:25

    Your comment..May God help u for doing ur work as you can

    Reply to this comment
  3. Issa
    Issa June 11, 16:43

    Congratulation sir. May your tenure remove Nigeria from Shithole to land full of aboundant mercy.

    Reply to this comment

Write a Comment