Sunday, November 28, 2021



THE LIST: Tunji Bello, Gbenga Omotoso… Sanwo-Olu appoints ‘first batch’ of commissioners

THE LIST: Tunji Bello, Gbenga Omotoso… Sanwo-Olu appoints ‘first batch’ of commissioners
July 14
17:59 2019

Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the governor of Lagos state, has appointed 25 people as commissioners and special advisers for his government, subject to the approval of the state assembly.


This is, however, the first batch of his cabinet.

The commissioners include Tunji Bello, the immediate past Secretary to Government of Lagos State, Gbenga Omotoso, editor at The Nation Newspaper, and 23 others.

“We took our time to pick the best hands for the tough job Lagosians have elected us to do. The nominees for the twenty five Commissioner and Special Adviser positions include women and men who have made their mark and at the zenith of their professional callings,’’ Gboyega Akosile, Sanwo-Olu’s deputy chief press secretary, said.


Akosile added that the current list is first batch, saying that consultation was going on with regard to the complete number of the cabinet members.

He further disclosed that the new cabinet would be unique, because of its diversity. Quoting Governor Sanwo-Olu, he said Lagos would continue to take the lead in innovation, gender-balance and youth inclusion in the administration of the State.

“We have a blend of youth who are under 40 among nominees for Commissioners and Special Advisers. Women too are well represented in the list. We believe Lagos deserves the best and we cannot give the people anything less than that,” he said.


Breaking down the list of nominees, there are 17 men and eight women, who will be sworn in as members of the state executive council.

Also in keeping his promise of millennial’s inclusion, Sanwo-Olu included youths who are in their early and mid-thirties in the list of nominees.

The commissioners are:

1. Rabiu Olowo Onaolapo


2. Folashade Adefisayo

3. Akin Abayomi

4. Idris Salako

5. Tunji Bello


6. Gbenga Omotoso

7. Toke Benson-Awoyinka

8. Bolaji Dada

9. Lere Odusote


10. Frederic Oladeinde

11. Gbolahan Lawal

12. Adekemi Ajayi

13. Femi George

14. Wale Ahmed

15. Moyo Onigbanjo (SAN)

16. Hakeem Fahm

17. Ajibola Ponnle

18. Aramide Adeyoye

19. Segun Dawodu

20. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf

21. Sam Egube

22. Ruth Bisola Olusanya

23. Princess Aderemi Adebowale

24. Tunbosun Alake

25. Afolabi Ayantayo


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment