Saturday, August 13, 2022


Buhari approves Lagos, Abuja airports as special economic zones

Buhari approves Lagos, Abuja airports as special economic zones
May 20
12:12 2021

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved four Nigerian airports as special economic zones (SEZs).

SEZs are areas in a country which offers economic advantages such as tax incentives and the opportunity to pay lower tariffs, to businesses.

The approved airports are Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos; Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano; Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja and Port Harcourt International Airport, Rivers state.

Hadi Sirika, minister of aviation, disclosed this in a post via his Twitter handle on Thursday.


“I am very glad to announce that Mr President has approved our four International Airports as Special Economic Zones. These are Lagos, Kano, Abuja & Port Harcourt. Our roadmap working,” he wrote.

On Wednesday, Sirika announced that the new national carrier will commence operation in the first quarter of 2022.

He said the COVID-19 pandemic had forced postponement of the planned date for the establishment of the national carrier which was initially slated for the end of 2021.

The airline is potentially poised to cater to millions of travelers in Nigeria and Africa, he added.


In 2018, the minister had unveiled the name and logo of the new national carrier, Nigeria Air, at the Farnborough International Airshow in London. The project was later suspended indefinitely.


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment