Buhari appoints new CBN directors

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of new heads of federal institutions while extending the tenure of others.

The announcement was made in a statement by Olusegun Adekunle, permanent secretary, general services office, office of the secretary to the government of the federation, in Abuja on Friday.

Among the new appointees are four non-executive directors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) who were previously nominated by the president in April.

They are Adeola Adetunji, Mike Obadan, Justitia Nnabuko and Ummu Jalingo.

Their appointments which will go into effect from June 7 will last for four years, the statement said

Buhari also approved a tenure extension of three chief executive officers, and appointed two new chief executive officers for some federal agencies.

Abdullahi Yusuf, a professor was appointed as the chief medical director of the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital for an initial period of four years.

Pauline Ikwugbu was named the new provost of the Federal College of Education, Eha-Amufu, Enugu state for and initial period of four years.

The tenure of Ogbonnia Ibe-Enwo, rector of the Federal Polytechnic, Unwana Afikpo, Ebonyi State, was extended for the second and final term of four years with effect from August 7.

Olusegun Aluko and Sunday Onohaebi were reappointed as rectors of the Federal Polytechnic, IIaro, Ogun state and the National Institute of Construction Technology, Uromi, Edo state for the second and final term of four years with effect from September 25 and July 25 respectively.