Tuesday, October 4, 2022


Cable Ads

CAF Awards: Osimhen missing as Moses Simon makes nominees’ list

CAF Awards: Osimhen missing as Moses Simon makes nominees’ list
June 30
16:13 2022

Moses Simon, Super Eagles winger, is the only Nigerian included in the 30-man nominees’ list for the Confederation of African Football (CAF) 2022 men’s ‘Player of the Year’ award.

The nominees were announced by CAF on Thursday.

The 26-year-old made the list alongside Mohamed Salah of Egypt and Sadio Mane of Senegal.

Other notable players include Rhiyad Mahrez, Edouard Mendy, Kalidou Koulibaly, Franck Kessie and free-scoring Sebastien Haller.


Simon, the former Ajax youngster, was in scintillating form during this year’s African Cup of Nations (AFCON), where he led Nigeria to three wins from three matches.

Nigeria would suffer a surprise exit against Tunisia in the knockout stage. He scored one and provided an assist at the tournament.

Simon also won the French Cup with Nantes in the recently concluded season. He played 34 matches in all competitions, scoring six goals and providing eight assists.


Victor Osimhen, who missed the AFCON 2022 due to injury, did not make the list.

The Napoli forward, whose goals propelled the Super Eagles to AFCON 2022, was missing in Cameroon after undergoing surgery for a facial injury.

In 2020, Osimhen became the most expensive African player of all time after sealing a record move to Napoli.

The winner will be selected at the 2022 CAF Awards that will be held on July 21, in Rabat, Morocco.


Player of the Year (men)

  • Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
  • Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Aston Villa)
  • Blati Toure (Burkina Faso & Pyramids)
  • Edmund Tapsoba (Burkina Faso & Bayer Leverkusen)
  • Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon & Napoli)
  • Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Lyon)
  • Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon & Al Nassr)
  • Youssouf M’Changama (Comoros & Guingamp)
  • Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)
  • Sebastien Haller (Cote d’Ivoire & Ajax)
  • Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt & Al Ahly)
  • Mohamed ElNeny (Egypt & Arsenal)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  • Mohamed Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)
  • Musa Barrow (Gambia & Bologna)
  • Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
  • Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)
  • Hamari Traore (Mali & Rennes)
  • Yves Bissouma (Mali & Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Sofiane Boufal (Morocco & Angers)
  • Yahya Jabrane (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
  • Yassine Bounou (Morocco & Sevilla)
  • Moses Simon (Nigeria & Nantes)
  • Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)
  • Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
  • Nampalys Mendy (Senegal & Leicester City)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)
  • Saliou Ciss (Senegal & Nancy)
  • Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment