Sunday, December 5, 2021



FULL LIST: CJN swears in 22 FCT judges, warns them against ‘abuse of office’

FULL LIST: CJN swears in 22 FCT judges, warns them against ‘abuse of office’
November 23
18:40 2021

Ibrahim Muhammad, chief justice of Nigeria (CJN), has warned the newly appointed judges of the federal capital territory (FCT) against misuse of power.


The 22 new judges are among the 33 candidates nominated in April 2020 by the National Judicial Council (NJC) to President Muhammadu Buhari for appointment.

Although a suit had been instituted against the nomination of the judges, a federal high court in Abuja dismissed the matter on the basis that the plaintiff lacked the locus standi to file the suit.

Okon Abang, the presiding judge, also said the court lacks the jurisdiction to entertain the matter.


Eleven of the judges were sworn in on September 14, 2020.

The swearing-in ceremony of the remaining judges held on Tuesday at the main courtroom of the supreme court in Abuja.

The CJN asked the new judges to flee from anything that will bring them into disrepute in the course of their new assignment.


“You have just entered into a lifetime covenant with the almighty God and the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Henceforth, whatever you do rightly will be counted, and accordingly, recorded in your favour,” he said.

“Similarly, whatever wrongdoing that emanates from any form of indiscretion and abuse of office, will, in like manner, be used to conscientise, chastise and thoroughly sanitise the same conscience that you may have refused to listen to.

“Appointment to the bench is not an appointment to wealth, vainglory, dishonest disposition or ostentatious lifestyle through corrupt acquaintances.

“The searchlight of the National Judicial Council beams brightly on all judicial officers across the country. Our radar is sophisticated enough to detect every form of corruption and wrongdoing.


“The remoteness of your location of adjudication can never blur our sight on you. We have very powerful lens to capture and document your conduct; so be careful and take heed, or else, you may end up regretting ever being appointed a judicial officer. We don’t pray for that, anyway!

“The entire letters and words of the oath you have just taken must reside in a prime place of your heart and be generously applied in your adjudications.

“This is a bond that you should engrave in your heart and should be well guided by it while adjudicating in all matters that come before you. You must endeavour to be impartial, fair to all, and apply justice and equity in all your undertakings.”

The newly appointed judges are:

  1. Madugu Mohammed Alhaji (Oyo)
  2. Agunloye Kayode (Ondo)
  3. Enenche Eleojo (Kogi)
  4. Aminu Mohammad Abdullahi (Kano)
  5. Nwecheonwu Chinyere Elewe (Rivers)
  6. Ibrahim Mohammed (Jigawa)
  7. Sadiya Mu’azu Mayana (Zamfara)
  8. Kanyip Rosemary Indinya (Taraba)
  9. Aliyu Yunusa Shafa (Nasarawa)
  10. Mohammed Zubairu (Kaduna)
  11. Oluyemisi I. Adelaja (Osun)
  12. Fatima Abubakar Aliyu (Gombe)
  13. Agashieze Cyprian Odinaka (Enugu)
  14. Aliyu Halilu Ahmed (Adamawa)
  15. Hafsat Lawan Abba-Aliyu (Yobe)
  16. Olufolake Olufolashade Oshin (Ogun)
  17. Nwabulu Ngozika Chineze (Anambra)
  18. Mimi Anne Katsina Alu-Apena (Benue)
  19. Binta Dogonyaro (Jigawa)
  20. Muhammad Mustapha Adamu (Kebbi)
  21. Jadesola Oludare Adeyemi-Ajayi (Ogun)
  22. Njideka Nwosu-Iheme (Rivers)


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment