Wednesday, June 29, 2022


Cornelius Ojelabi, Sani Ahmed… winners and losers of APC, PDP congresses

Cornelius Ojelabi, Sani Ahmed… winners and losers of APC, PDP congresses
October 17
14:01 2021

On Saturday, the two major political parties in the country — All Progressives Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) — conducted congresses to elect leaders that will pilot their affairs at the state level.

The APC elected new executives in most of the states of the federation, while the PDP conducted its congresses in only a few states where the tenure of executives had expired.

As the 2023 elections draw near, politicians are making moves to install their loyalists in the leadership positions of their parties.

Amid the politicking, the congresses of both parties were characterised by division — and violence in a few cases.


Different methods of voting were deployed by the parties at the congresses.

TheCable highlights the winners and losers 



The list of winners is based on those that conducted congresses recognised by the party’s national leadership.

Ebonyi APC

Stanley Okoro-Emegha was elected APC chairman in Ebonyi through delegates voting. He polled 1,080 votes.

Sokoto APC


Isa Achida emerged as the Sokoto APC chairman through consensus.

Lagos APC

Cornelius Ojelabi(pictured), a former commissioner for rural development, was elected as the Lagos APC chairman through voice vote.

Rivers APC


Emeka Beke, an ally of Rotimi Amaechi, minister of transportation, was named new Rivers APC chairman, after scoring 1,575 votes to beat his opponent.

Bayelsa APC


Dennis Otiotio, an associate of Timipre Sylva, minister of state for petroleum, polled 582 votes to emerge as Bayelsa APC chairman.

Kwara APC


Sunday Fagbemi was elected chairman through a consensus arrangement by the faction loyal to AbdulRaman AbdulRazaq, governor of Kwara. The faction is recognised by the party’s national leadership.

Osun APC

Gboyega Famodun was voted the Osun APC chairman of the Ilerioluwa faction loyal to Gboyega Oyetola, governor of Osun. The faction is recognised by the party’s national leadership. The Osun Progressives (TOP), loyal to Rauf Aregbesola, minister of interior, held a parallel factional congress.

Bauchi APC

Babato Misau was named as the Bauchi APC chairman through the consensus method.

Cross River APC

Alphonsus Eba was elected as the Cross River APC chairman through a consensus voice vote.

Enugu APC

Ugochukwu Agballah was elected Enugu APC chairman, after polling 684 votes.

Niger APC

Haliru Jikantoro emerged as the Niger APC chairman through the consensus method, under the supervision of the state congress committee backed by the party’s national leadership.

Gombe APC

Nitte Amangal was elected as the APC Gombe chairman through voice affirmation by delegates.

Nasarawa APC

John Mamman was voted the APC Nasarawa chairman via consensus by the party’s stakeholders and delegates.

Ekiti APC 

Paul Omotoso was elected as the Ekiti APC chairman.

Borno APC

Ali Dalori was voted the Borno APC chairman by affirmation.


Macdonald Ebere was elected as the Imo APC chairman through consensus.

Delta APC

Omeni Sobotie, an aide of Ovie Omo-Agege, deputy senate president, was elected as the Delta APC chairman by affirmation.

Kaduna APC

Emmanuel Jekada was named Kaduna APC chairman following the adoption of the consensus option.

Ondo APC

Ade Adetimehim was re-elected as the Ondo APC chairman through a voice vote.

Katsina APC

Sani Ahmed was elected as the Katsina APC chairman via affirmation.

Ebonyi PDP

Tochukwu Okorie was voted the Ebonyi PDP chairman, having scored 1,240 votes.

Kwara PDP

Mohammed Babatunde was elected the Kwara PDP chairman through consensus.


Dayo Ogungbenro was elected as the Oyo PDP chairman. He is the candidate of the faction loyal to Seyi Makinde, governor of the state.


Silas Onu lost the PDP chairmanship position to Okorie. He polled 260 votes.

Chizi Nyeomasila lost the APC chairmanship position to Amaechi’s associate, polling 8 votes.

Dan Igrubia also lost the APC chairmanship position to Otiotio, earning 8 votes.

Paul Omeje polled 4 votes as he lost the Enugu APC chairmanship contest to Agballah, a former commissioner of works.

Akanu Okoro lost the Ebonyi APC chairmanship position to Umahi’s ally. He polled 60 votes.


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment