Sunday, August 1, 2021



Dickson wins Bayelsa-west senatorial bye-election

Dickson wins Bayelsa-west senatorial bye-election
December 07
14:51 2020

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Seriake Dickson, former governor of Bayelsa state, as winner of the Bayelsa-west senatorial bye-election.


Dickson, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), polled 115,257 votes while his closest rival, Peremobowei Ebebi, of the All Progressives Congress (APC), garnered 17,541 votes in the election which was held last Saturday.

Moses Cleopas of the PDP also polled 110,019 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Abel Efemowei, APC candidate, in the Bayelsa central senatorial district bye-election.

Dickson and Cleopas are stepping into the legislative seats left vacant by Douye Diri, the state governor, and Lawrence Ewhrujakpo, his deputy.


Speaking at his country home of Toru-Orua, Dickson dedicated his victory to God, the voters, Bayelsa, and the Ijaw nation.

The former governor said he will focus on pursuing the restructuring of the country at the national assembly.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment