Sunday, December 5, 2021



D’Tigress to battle China, France, Mali for 2022 FIBA World Cup slot

D’Tigress to battle China, France, Mali for 2022 FIBA World Cup slot
November 24
11:38 2021

D’Tigress have been drawn against France, China, and Mali in group B of the 2022 FIBA Women’s World Cup qualifiers billed for February at the Ranko Žeravica Sports Hall, Belgrade, Serbia.


A total of 16 countries will slug it out for slots at the world cup which is scheduled to hold from September 22 to October 1, 2022, in Australia.

Australia, the host, and the United States, the champions, are the only teams who have qualified for the competition, while the final ten berths will be decided in Serbia.

The 16 teams are shared in four groups, with the top two sides qualifying automatically for the competition alongside the two best losers in the preliminary round.


Nigeria and Mali are the only African representative at the tourney after booking their places in the playoffs by finishing first and second at the 2021 Afrobasket.

The west African neighbours will continue their rivalry on the world stage as they battle each other in their final group game of the competition on February 13 after D’Tigress would have played China and France on February 10 and 11, respectively.

Nigeria’s participation in the qualifiers was in jeopardy last month after members of the team threatened to boycott the tournament if their owed allowances and bonuses are not paid.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment