Wednesday, February 21, 2024



Electoral violence: Kogi lifts suspension on eight lawmakers, two LG chairmen

Electoral violence: Kogi lifts suspension on eight lawmakers, two LG chairmen
May 24
23:02 2023

The Kogi house of Assembly has lifted the suspension on eight out of the nine lawmakers and the two local government chairmen.

They were suspended over alleged terrorism and electoral violence during the last elections.

Nine lawmakers and two council chairmen were suspended before the national assembly election held on March 18.

NAN reports that the lawmakers who were asked to return to their offices are Daniyan Ranyi (Bassa), Muktar Baje (Okehi), Olusola Kilani Olumo (Ijumu), Akande Moses (Ogori/ Magongo) and Lawi Muhammed Ahmed (Okene 1).


Others are Atule Egunu (Ibaji), Suleiman Autajachi Musa (Idah) and Aderonke Aro ( Yagba West).

The lawmakers were cleared during the plenary on Wednesday.

Yahaya Bello, governor of Kogi, had written a letter demanding the clearance of the lawmaker against the backdrop of a report from the Department of State Security Service (DSS).


Mathew Kolawole, speaker of the house, was said to have conducted a voice vote which led to the clearance of the lawmakers and the LG chairmen.

In a report by the ad hoc committee chaired by Alfa Momoh-Rabiu, deputy speaker, only Bello Abdullahi, a lawmaker representing the Ajaokuta constituency, was still under suspension.

The lawmakers did not give any reason why Abdullahi was not cleared.

The two council chairmen cleared are Moses Tolorunleke of Kabba/ Bunu and William Ekuwojo of Ibaji LGAs.


Click on the link below to join TheCable Channel on WhatsApp for your Breaking News, Business Analysis, Politics, Fact Check, Sports and Entertainment News!



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying.