Saturday, August 20, 2022


#EndSARS: Lagos panel awards N19.25m to six victims of police brutality

#EndSARS: Lagos panel awards N19.25m to six victims of police brutality
September 24
17:54 2021

The Lagos state judicial panel has awarded a total of N19,250,000 as compensation to six victims of police brutality.

Doris Okuwobi, chairperson of the panel, gave the ruling and presented the cheques to the victims, on Friday.

The names of the petitioners awarded compensation are Akinmade Akinrolabu, Sanusi Oluwakemi, Patrick Ochemu, Ayomide Oyewunmi, Adesina Adeosun and Oluwatosin Temitope.

The panel awarded the sum of N10 million to Adeosun; N3 million to Ochemu; Temitope received N3 million; N1.5 million was awarded to Akinrolabu; Oyewunmi received N1 million, while N750,000 went to Oluwakemi.


The family of Adeosun had appeared before the panel to narrate how police officers attached to Olosan police station in Mushin axis of the state allegedly shot Adesina, who was a taxi driver.

The family said the deceased was shot at Fan Milk junction, around Mushin axis of Lagos, on October 20, 2020, during the #EndSARS protest.

Also, Taiwo Oyewunmi, the father of Ayomide, told the panel that some police officers attached to the Ajah axis of the state allegedly invaded his residence and handcuffed his 14-year-old son.


The petitioner said it took instructions from some authorities for the officers not to detain his son, adding that Ayomide was traumatised over the encounter with the police.

The judicial panel was set up by the Lagos government in the wake of the #EndSARS protest in October 2020, to probe cases of police brutality in the state.

See pictures of the petitioners below.




No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment