Friday, August 19, 2022


Enhanced Ebola screening for W’African travellers begins

Enhanced Ebola screening for W’African travellers begins
October 22
13:11 2014

New US rules requiring air passengers from the three West African countries worst hit by Ebola to travel via one of five airports are coming into effect, BBC reported on Wednesday.

Travellers from Sierra Leone, Liberia and Guinea must now arrive at O’Hare in Chicago, JFK, Newark, Washington’s Dulles or Atlanta, where they will undergo enhanced screening.

The World Health Organisation is due to convene an emergency meeting later.

Travellers from Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone will have their temperatures checked as part of screening programmes.


However, experts have warned that such moves are unlikely to have an impact.

The new security measures come as public concern grows in the US, where three people have been infected and one person has died from the virus.

More than 4,500 people have died from the current outbreak of Ebola virus disease in four West African countries with Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone recording the most casualties.


Ebola deaths have also been recorded in USA, Spain, Germany, Democratic Republic of Congo and Nigeria.

However, the World Health Organisation declared Nigeria free of Ebola on Monday.


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment