Friday, September 22, 2023


Buhari nominates 43 ministers, sends list to senate (full list)

Buhari nominates 43 ministers, sends list to senate (full list)
July 23
10:09 2019

President Muhammadu Buhari has finally sent his list of ministerial nominees to the senate, TheCable can report. 

Unlike during his first term when he appointed only 36 ministers — one per state — he has decided to also appoint one per geo-political zone, bringing the total to 43, TheCable understands.

The list was sent to the senate on Monday evening via executive communication and is expected to be read on the floor of the senate on Tuesday.

The senate, which will be proceeding on a two-month recess on Thursday, is expected to screen the nominees.


Contrary to speculations, only about 12 ministers will be re-appointed from the former cabinet.

Meanwhile, the senate president has read the full list on the floor of the house.

  1. Uchechukwu Oga (Abia)
  2. Mohammed Musa Bello (Adamawa)
  3. Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom)
  4. Chris Ngige (Anambra)
  5. Sharon Ikeazor (Anambra)
  6. Adamu Adamu (Bauchi)
  7. Mariam Katagum (Bauchi)
  8. Timi Sylva (Bayelsa)
  9. George Akume (Benue)
  10. Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Borno)
  11. Goddy Agba (Cross Rivers)
  12. Festus Keyamo (Delta)
  13. Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi)
  14. Osagie Enakhire (Edo)
  15. Clement Agba (Edo)
  16. Adeniyi Adebayo (Ekiti)
  17. Geofrey Onyeama (Enugu)
  18. Ali Issa Pantami (Gombe)
  19. Emeka Nwajuba (Imo)
  20. Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa)
  21. Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna)
  22. Mohammed Mahmoud (Kaduna)
  23. Sabo Nanono (Kano)
  24. Bashir Salihi Magashi (Kano)
  25. Hadi Sirika (Katsina)
  26. Abubakar Malami (Kebbi)
  27. Ramatu Tijani (Kogi)
  28. Lai Mohammed (Kwara)
  29. Gbemisola Saraki (Kwara)
  30. Raji Fashola (Lagos)
  31. Nimbe Mamora (Lagos)
  32. Muhammed Abdullahi (Nasarawa)
  33. Zubairu Dada (Niger)
  34. Olamilekan Adegbite (Ogun)
  35. Tayo Alasoadura (Ondo)
  36. Rauf Aregbesola (Osun)
  37. Sunday Dare (Oyo)
  38. Pauline Tallen (Plateau)
  39. Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers)
  40. Muhammadu Maigari Dingyadi (Sokoto)
  41. Saleh Mamman (Taraba)
  42. Abubakar Aliyu (Yobe)
  43. Sadiya Umar Farouk (Zamfara)

Editor’s note: The headline of the story has been corrected to read 43, instead of 42, nominees.



  1. Jos
    Jos July 23, 10:41

    Commendable Efforts by Mr President. Please who made the list?

    Reply to this comment
  2. Womanleader
    Womanleader July 23, 10:49

    Well done PMB

    Reply to this comment
  3. Ob
    Ob July 23, 11:54

    Why must our new Government always come out late with Ministerial list after each swearing in, in May every four years.
    It gives a picture of apparent unpreparedness for Governance, yearin
    year out.
    I hope, the negative effects of delays of these late Ministerial list submissions, on the economy will not be blamed on the opposition in the days to come.

    Reply to this comment
  4. itz Evergreen
    itz Evergreen July 23, 12:13

    Adamu Adamu is not supposed to be minister of education again Bihari can give him another position but not minister of education.

    Reply to this comment
  5. Front Man
    Front Man July 23, 12:17

    Finally, Good 1 from Mr President and congratulations to the nominees

    Reply to this comment
  6. Emmy
    Emmy July 23, 12:54

    Why recycling people in your government? Akpabios compensation is a ministerial appointment.
    We are going no way.

    Reply to this comment
  7. xanthos
    xanthos July 23, 13:04

    Thank God, Dalung no dey…

    Reply to this comment
  8. Bobo
    Bobo July 23, 13:43

    Beautiful and nonsense list.New wine in the old bottle. I can’t phantom why we keep deceiving ourselves.I weep for Nigeria

    Reply to this comment
  9. Molad
    Molad July 23, 18:04

    Good move by The presiden, Next level is certain.

    Reply to this comment
  10. Onu onu
    Onu onu July 23, 18:36

    85% of the nominees are not meant be ministers at all…. This appointment is based on compensation not on merit. When we our country Nigeria get it right. May God help us

    Reply to this comment
  11. Abdul
    Abdul July 24, 08:15

    Your comment..nice nominate sir I wish u all the best an good leader

    Reply to this comment
  12. Prince Adeolu
    Prince Adeolu July 25, 21:28

    With this list nigeria can never move forward.

    Reply to this comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying!