Tuesday, July 5, 2022


Falola bags Technical University’s first-ever honorary doctorate in management technology

Falola bags Technical University’s first-ever honorary doctorate in management technology
March 06
10:49 2022

The Technical University (Tech-U), Ibadan, the Oyo capital, has honoured Toyin Falola, a professor of history at the University of Texas, with a doctorate in management technology.

Falola received the honorary doctorate, which is the first of its kind to be awarded by the university, on Saturday.

The event was part of programmes to celebrate the university’s maiden convocation ceremony.

Speaking at the event, Ayobami Salami, vice-chancellor of Tech-U, commended Falola for his efforts in promoting the education sector.


Salami added that the university hopes to collaborate with the professor within the framework of public-private partnership initiatives.

According to the vice-chancellor, a total of 63 students graduated from five academic programmes — computer science, industrial chemistry, microbiology, physics with electronics, and software engineering.

“[The students] are those who, in the last four years, have been through a highly-digitised system — graduates who employed the best, modern learning practices; the type synonymous with big institutions abroad,” he said.


“Throughout their four-year stay at Tech-U, they never had to see the marker board, let alone chalk or blackboards. The youths we are graduating today have been trained in the smart board culture.”

On his part, Falola expressed his appreciation to the university, adding that the honour is a call to do more.

“I am very grateful for this honour. It means a lot to me. I do not take it lightly. I am immensely grateful the Technical University,” he said.

“It is also a call for me to continue to give my best in scholarship and to continue to be a source of encouragement and inspiration to all those who look up to me.”


According to the professor’s citation, he has received over 30 lifetime career awards and 14 honorary doctorates, as well as written extensively on the humanities and Africa.

Other awardees included Tunde Afolabi, chancellor of the university; Adebayo Akande, Amal Pepple, and Segun Agbaje.


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment