Wednesday, May 29, 2024
Advertisement Topt



FG inaugurates 37-member tripartite committee on minimum wage

FG inaugurates 37-member tripartite committee on minimum wage
January 30
14:45 2024

The federal government has inaugurated a 37-member tripartite committee on national minimum wage.

The committee is tasked with the responsibility of recommending a new national minimum wage for Nigerian workers.

While inaugurating the committee on Tuesday at the state house in Abuja, Vice-President Kashim Shettima charged the committee to promptly reach a resolution and submit their reports.

Shettima emphasised the need for contract adherence and also urged outside committee consultations.


The committee, comprising representatives of the federal and state governments, private sector and the organised labour, is to be chaired by Bukar Goni Aji, former head of service of the federation.

Members of the committee from the federal government include Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, minister of state, labour and employment (representing the minister of labour and employment); Wale Edun, minister of finance and coordinating minister of the economy; and Atiku Bagudu, minister of budget and economic planning.

Others are Folashade Yemi-Esan, head of the civil service of the federation; Maurice Mbaeri, permanent secretary, general services office (GSO) OSGF; and Ekpo Nta, chairman of the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission (NSIWC).


Members from the state government include Mohammed Bago, governor of Niger; Bala Mohammed, Bauchi governor; Umar Radda, Katsina governor; Charles Soludo, Anambra governor; Ademola Adeleke of Osun state; and Bassey Otu of Cross River.

Members from the organised labour include Joe Ajaero, NLC president; Emmanuel Ugboaja; Adeyanju Adewale; Ambali Olatunji; Benjamin Anthony and Theophilius Ndukuba.

Membership from the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC) include Festus Osifo, its president; Tommy Okon, deputy president I; Kayode Alakija, deputy president II; Jimoh Oyibo, deputy president. III; Nuhu Toro, secretary-general; and Hafusatu Shuaib, chairperson of women commission.

From the Nigeria Employers Consultative Association (NECA) are Adewale-Smatt Oyerinde, its director-general; Chuma Nwankwo; and Thompson Akpabio.


Members from the Nigeria Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) include Michael Olawale-Cole, its national president; Ahmed Rabiu, national vice-president; and Humphrey Ngonadi (NPOM), national life president.

The members from the National Association of Small and Medium Enterprise (NASME) are Abdulrashid Yerima, president and chairman of council; and Theophilus Okwuchukwu.

Members of the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN) include Grace Omo-Lamai, human resource director of Nigerian Breweries; Segun Ajayi-Kadir, director-general of MAN; Ada Chukwudozie, managing director of Dozzy Oil and Gas Limited.


Click on the link below to join TheCable Channel on WhatsApp for your Breaking News, Business Analysis, Politics, Fact Check, Sports and Entertainment News!



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying.