Sunday, September 27, 2020



FG upgrades 4 colleges of education to varsities

FG upgrades 4 colleges of education to varsities
May 20
20:47 2015

The federal executive council (FEC) has approved the upgrade of four federal colleges of education to the status of universities of education.


Ibrahim Shekarau, the minister of education, made this known in Abuja on Wednesday when he was briefing state house correspondents after the weekly FEC meeting.

He listed the institutions as: Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo; Federal College of Education, Zaria; Federal College of Education, Kano; and Alvan Ikoku Federal College of Education, Owerri.

“The council approved the conversion of four old colleges of education to new federal universities of education,” he said.


“These colleges are; Adeyemi College of Education in Ondo is now approved to be converted to be Adeyemi Federal University, Ondo.

“Federal College of Education, Zaria, will now be Federal University of Education, Zaria; Federal College of Education, Kano, has now been converted to Federal University of Education, Kano.

“Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri, is now approved as a university to be known as Alvan Ikoku University of Education.”


He said the conversion of the colleges was meant to ensure quality teacher education in the country.

Shekarau also disclosed that the council approved the upgrading of the College of Medical Health Sciences under the Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi, to Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo in Benue.

He said the approval was part of the federal government’s efforts to ensure the production of quality graduates into the various fields of medicine and sciences.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment