Wednesday, December 1, 2021



Four reps dump PDP for APC — now seven in two weeks

Four reps dump PDP for APC — now seven in two weeks
July 06
15:18 2021

Four members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the House of Representatives have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC). 


The four lawmakers — all from Zamfara state — announced their defection via a letter read at Tuesday’s plenary session.

The defectors are Bello Shinkafi, Ahmed Bakura, Ahmed Bungudu and Suleiman Gummi.

That makes it seven lawmakers that have left the PDP to the APC in the green chamber.


The lawmakers cited crisis in Zamfara PDP as their reason for dumping the party.

According to their letter read at the plenary, “we the underlisted members wish to officially notify you of our defection from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressive Congress (APC) following the crisis of the PDP in Zamfara state which has consequently led to the dissolution of the state executive by the national body.”

The development comes about a week after Bello Matawalle, governor of Zamfara, dumped the PDP for APC.


Last week Tuesday, the main opposition party also lost two of their members to the ruling party: Idagbo Ochiglegoor and Michael Etaba, both from Cross River.

A day later, Umar Dangaladima, a PDP lawmaker from Zamfara, also joined the APC.


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment