Wednesday, June 29, 2022


France’s Pavard beats Musa to World Cup best goal award

France’s Pavard beats Musa to World Cup best goal award
July 25
17:47 2018

Benjamin Pavard’s stunning strike for France in the 4-3 defeat of Argentina has been voted the best goal of the 2018 World Cup.

Pavard’s effort beat Ahmed Musa’s second goal for Nigeria in the group stage game against Iceland.

Over three million users voted in the poll which saw Pavard become the first European player to win the goal of the tournament accolade since inception in 2006.

“The ball bounced up as it came to me. I didn’t even think about it. I just tried to get over it and keep it down,” Pavard told after France’s Round of 16 thriller with Argentina.


“I was trying to hit it in the direction it came from, which is what the strikers always tell me. I didn’t think it over, and when it went in I just felt so happy.”

Colombia’s James Rodriguez won the 2014 edition as well as the Adidas golden boot award. Rodriguez also won the 2014 FIFA Puskas Award.

Other previous winners include Maxi Rodriguez (Argentina) and Diego Forlan (Uruguay), winning in 2006 and 2010 respectively.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment