Sunday, February 9, 2020

FULL LIST: Ighalo, Ndidi, Osimhen shortlisted for CAF 2019 awards

FULL LIST: Ighalo, Ndidi, Osimhen shortlisted for CAF 2019 awards
November 24
21:39 2019

Odion Ighalo, Wilfred Ndidi and Victor Osimhen, three Super Eagles stars, have been shortlisted among thirty for the 2019 Confederation of African Football (CAF) player of the year award.

The nominees for the different categories were announced by the confederation on Sunday.

Super Falcons trio of Asisat Oshoala, Nnadozie Chiamaka and Kanu Uchenna are also among the first ten nominees for the African women’s player of the year category.

The Nigerian trio will have Ajara Nchout (Cameroon), Ange N’guessan (Ivory Coast), Elizabeth Addo (Ghana), Gabrielle Ouguene (Cameroon), Rafiloe Jane (South Africa), Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi) and last year’s winner Christen Thembi Khatlana (South Africa) to contend with to make the last three finalists.

The CAF awards, which celebrate African footballers and officials who have distinguished themselves during 2019, have Osimhen and Samuel Chukwueze on the list of youth category.

For men’s coach of the year, Gernot Rohr made the list of ten African gaffers for the gong.

The 28th edition of the awards is expected to take place on January 7, 2020 at Citadel Azure, Hurghada, Egypt.

The Interclubs player of the year award has been reintroduced and will be dedicated to honouring key actors in CAF’s club competitions

Full list of nominees for CAF Awards 2019:

African Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria& Al-Sadd)
Carolus Andriamatsinoro (Madagascar & Al Adalah)
Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon & Paris Saint-Germain)
Ferjani Sassi(Tunisia & Zamalek)
Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Paris Saint-Germain)
Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan)
Jordan Ayew (Ghana & Crystal Palace)
Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & Al Ain)
Mahmoud Hassan”Trezeguet” (Egypt & Aston Villa)
Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania & Genk)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)
Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
Nicolas Pepe (Côte d’Ivoire & Arsenal)
Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Shanghai Shenhua)
Percy Tau (South Africa & Club Brugge)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
Thomas Teye Partey (Ghana & Atlético Madrid)
Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)
Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)
Wilfried Zaha (Côte d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)
Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah)

African Women’s Player of the Year
Ajara Nchout (Cameroon & Valerenga )
Ange N’Guessan (Côte d’Ivoire & Tenerife)
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)
Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria & Rivers Angels)
Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Jiangsu Suning)
Gabrielle Ouguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)
Refiloe Jane (South Africa & AC Milan)
Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)
Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Beijing Phoenix FC)
Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria & Southeastern Fire)

African Interclubs Player of the Year
Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)
Anice Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Emmanuel Okwi (Uganda & Simba)
Ferjani Sassi (Tunisia & Zamalek)
Fousseny Coulibaly (Cote d’Ivoire & Esperance)
Franck Kom (Cameroon & Esperance)
Herenilson (Angola & Petro de Luanda)
Ismail El Haddad (Morocco & Wydad Casablanca)
Jean Marc Makusu (DR Congo & AS VITA)
Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo & RS Berkane / Al Ain)
Mahmoud Alaa (Egypt & Zamalek)
Meddie Kagere (Rwanda & Simba)
Meschack Elia (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
Tarek Hamed (Egypt & Zamalek)
Themba Zwane (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Trésor Mputu (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
Walid El Karti (Morocco & Wydad Casablanca)
Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

African Youth Player of the Year
Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
Amadou Haidara (Mali & RB Leipzig)
Amadou Sagna (Senegal & Club Brugge)
Enock Mwepu (Zambia & Red Bull Salzburg)
Ismaïla Sarr (Senegal & Watford)
Krépin Diatta (Senegal & Club Brugge)
Moussa Djenepo (Mali & Southampton)
Moussa Ndiaye (Senegal & Excellence Foot)
Musa Barrow (Gambia & Atalanta)
Osvaldo Pedro Capemba ‘Capita’ (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)
Patson Daka (Zambia & Red Bull Salzburg)
Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria & Villarreal)
Sekou Koita (Mali & Red Bull Salzburg)
Steve Regis Mvoue (Cameroon & AS Azur Star)
Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)
Zito Luvumbo (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)

African Men’s Coach of the Year
Aliou Cisse (Senegal – Senegal)
Christian Gross (Switzerland – Zamalek)
Corentin Martins (France – Mauritania)
Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)
Faouzi Benzarti (Tunisia – Wydad Athletic Club)
Gernot Rohr (Germany – Nigeria)
Moïne Chaâbani (Tunisia – Esperance)
Mounir Jaouani (Morocco – Berkane FC)
Nicolas Dupuis (France – Madagascar)
Pitso Mosimane (South Africa – Mamelodi Sundowns)

African Women’s Coach of the Year
Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon)
Bruce Mwape (Zambia)
Clementine Toure (Côte d’Ivoire)
Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
David Ouma (Kenya)
Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

African Men’s National Team of the Year

African Women’s National Team of the Year
Côte d’Ivoire
South Africa


WHATSAPP 08113975334
TWITTER @thecableng
Copyright 2020 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Social Comments


No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked *



Exchange Rates

February 04, 2019USDGBPEUR
NOTE: The black market rates represent the most prevalent. They could be slightly higher or lower among different sellers.