FULL LIST: NELFUND unveils 36 state-owned institutions eligible for student loan

Nelfund logo Nelfund logo

The Nigerian Education Loan Fund (NELFUND) has published a list of institutions that have submitted their complete student data for the student verification system (SVS) portal.

In a statement on Sunday, NELFUND also revealed that students enrolled in the 36 state-owned tertiary institutions can now apply for student loans effective July 7, 2024.

It also advised other state-owned tertiary institutions yet to “submit their complete student data to its SVS portal to do so to enable their students to benefit from the scheme”.

See the list below:


1. Adamawa State University, Mubi
2. Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri
3. Borno State University
4. Mohammed Lawan College of Agriculture, Borno
5. Edo State University, Uzairue
6. Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti
7. Gombe State University
8. Kingsley Ozumba Mbadiwe University, Imo
9. Imo State University of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Umuagwo
10. Nuhu Bamalli Polytechnic, Zaria
11. Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano
12. Umaru Musa Yar’adua University, Katsina
13. Katsina State Institute of Technology and Management
14. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero
15. Confluence University of Science and Technology, Kogi state
16. Lagos state university of education
17. Lagos State University
18. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
19. Tai Solarin University of Education, Ogun state
20. University of Medical Sciences, Ondo
21. Osun State University
22. University of Ilesa, Osun
23. GTC, ARA Osun State
26. GTC, ILE-IFE Osun
27. GTC, INISA Osun
28. GTC, IWO Osun
29. GTC,OSU Osun
31. Osun State College of Education, Ila-Orangun
32. Government Technical College Ile-Ife
33. Osun State College of Technology
34. Taraba State University, Jalingo
35. Umar Suleiman College of Education, Gashua, Yobe State
36. Zamfara State University, Talata Mafara

On May 24, the NELFUND portal went live and became accessible to students of tertiary institutions.

President Bola Tinubu enacted an initial version of the student loan policy in June 2023 to grant interest-free loans to students.


The scheme was to commence in October 2023 but implementation was repeatedly deferred until a re-enactment in April 2024.

Last month, NELFUND approved the disbursement of the student loans to all successful applicants in its first rollout.

Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected from copying.