Saturday, September 23, 2023


FULL LIST: Nkem Okocha, Zainab Bala, Ken Henshaw shine at BudgIT active citizens awards

FULL LIST: Nkem Okocha, Zainab Bala, Ken Henshaw shine at BudgIT active citizens awards
September 18
10:11 2023

BudgIT, a civic-tech non-profit organisation, has honoured some Nigerians who are doing impactful work in the country’s humanitarian space.

The organisation recognised some Nigerians at the second edition of its active citizens award (ACA).

The event, with the theme “Trailblazers of change: Pioneering solutions, shaping the future”, was held at the Civic Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos, on Saturday.

Oluseun Onigbinde, founder of BudgIT, said the award was conceived to “spotlight and appreciate” individuals and organisations doing impactful work in the Nigerian humanitarian space.


“The award was conceived to set a precedent and culture that recognises and celebrates the priceless contributions of development leaders in Nigeria,” Onigbinde said at the event.

He added that the award would spur the development leaders to make more meaningful contributions to society.

In August, the organisation announced the nomination process for the award.


Below is the list of finalists of winners of each category: 

Oby Ezekwesili Award (for Women Advocacy)

Nkem Okocha (Mamamoni Nigeria) — Winner

Amrah Aliyu (Salma Attah Foundation for Women and Girls Support)


Chioma Agwuegbo (TechHerNG)

Safiya Ibn Garba (Empowering Women for Excellence Initiative in Nigeria)

Award for Community Service

Abubakar Sadiq Muazu (Centre for Advocacy Transparency and Accountability Initiative) — Winner


Sola Fanawopo (Igbajo Development Association)

Kangyang Gana (Claire Aid Foundation)


Karo Omu (Sanitary Aid Initiative)

Disability Advocacy/Empowerment Award


Crystal Chigbu (Limb Empowerment and Advocacy Program) — Winner

Mofoluwasho Liasu (Super Parents Foundation)


Arowolo Ayoola Abimbola (DataLead Africa)

Hellen Anurika Alase (Deaf Women Aloud Initiative)

Solutions Journalism Award 

Zainab Bala (The Scoop Storytelling Initiative) — Winner

Kemi Busari (Premium Times)

Muhammad Auwal Ibrahim (Freelancer)

Violet Ikong (Prime Progress)

Award for Civic Activism 

Osariemen Grace Omoruyi (Leading Voice for Restorative Justice) — Winner

Nwabueze Chibuzor Godfirst (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit)

Jabir Yahya Zakari (Chanji Initiative for Development Empowerment and Leadership)

Abideen Olasupo (Brain Builders Youth Development Initiative)

Award for Health Activism

Prosper Okonkwo (APIN Health Initiative) — Winner

Uche Udekwe (Natal Cares)

Halima Layeni (Life After Abuse Foundation)

Chinonso Fidelis Egemba (The 100k Club)

Award for Climate Change Activism

Ken Henshaw (WTP Nigeria) — Winner

Chukwumerije Okereke (AEFUNAI Climate)

Olumide Idowu (Climate Wed)

Lauritta Boniface (Ecocykle)

Award for Institutional Transparency

Lagos State Domestic and Sexual Violence Agency

Award for Inclusion and Diversity

Inclusive Friends

Hall of Fame Award for Civic Activism 

Josephine Obiajulu Okei-Odumakin

Active Citizen Award

Murtala Abdullahi — Winner


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying!