FULL LIST: Okonjo-Iweala, Abba Kyari… FG nominates 437 persons for national honours

A total of 437 persons have been nominated by the federal government to receive national honours.

The awards will be presented by President Muhammadu Buhari on October 11, at an event scheduled to hold at the state house in Abuja.

According to the list, five persons — Senate President Ibrahim Lawan, Olukayode Ariwoola, chief justice of Nigeria (CJN); Tanko Muhammad, former CJN; Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, director-general of the World Trade Organisation (WTO); and Amina J. Mohammed, deputy secretary-general of the United Nations — are nominated for grand commander of the order of the Niger (GCON).

Those listed for the award of commander of the order of the federal republic (CFR) are the late Abba Kyari, former chief of staff; the late Ibrahim Attahiru, former chief of army staff; Monica Dongban-Mensem, president of the court of appeal; Oladayo Amao, chief of air staff, among others.


Foreigners listed for awards include Pierre Vandebeeck, chairman and managing director, Société d’Investissement pour l’Agriculture Tropicale (Siat); Ronald Chagoury, founder, Chagoury Group; and Deepak Singhal, chief executive officer (CEO) of Tolaram Africa.

A full list of those nominated for the national honours is available here.

Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Click on the link below to join TheCable Channel on WhatsApp for your Breaking News, Business Analysis, Politics, Fact Check, Sports and Entertainment News!

error: Content is protected from copying.