Monday, February 26, 2024



FULL LIST: Osimhen, Dennis replaced in Eagles new squad for AFCON

FULL LIST: Osimhen, Dennis replaced in Eagles new squad for AFCON
December 31
12:22 2021

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has announced four changes to the Super Eagles 28-man provisional list for the upcoming 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

The changes were communicated in a statement released by the federation on Friday.

The statement also confirmed TheCable’s report on Victor Osimhen pulling out of the team after testing positive for COVID-19. The 22-year-old is replaced by Henry Onyekuru.

Emmanuel Dennis has also been chalked off the list after Claudio Ranieri’s claim that NFF had sent the player’s invitation later than the deadline stipulated by Watford FC. The in-form striker will be replaced by Peter Olayinka of Slavia Prague.


Injuries have also forced the exclusion of Shehu Abdullahi and Leon Balogun from the squad. The duo will be replaced by Tyrone Ebuehi and Semi Ajayi respectively.

Super Eagles will be hoping to win their fourth AFCON title when the competition kicks off in Cameroon on January 9, 2022.

The team will take on Egypt in their first group game on January 11, before playing Sudan four days later. Their final group game will be against Guinea Bissau on January 19.



Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)


Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic)

Click on the link below to join TheCable Channel on WhatsApp for your Breaking News, Business Analysis, Politics, Fact Check, Sports and Entertainment News!



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying.