On the Go

FULL LIST: Osimhen, Oshoala nominated for 2023 Ballon d’Or

BY Jonathan Ledger


Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala have both been nominated for the 2023 Ballon d’Or awards in the men and women categories respectively.

The list, announced by France Football Magazine, sees both players shortlisted alongside 29 players in the men and women categories respectively.

Osimhen led Napoli to the Serie A title last season — the club’s first in 33 years.


The Super Eagles striker also scored 25 league goals to become the league’s highest goalscorer, setting the record as the first African footballer to achieve the feat.

The 24-year-old also led his country to AFCON 2024 qualification where he is also the leading goalscorer in the series.


Oshoala, five-time African footballer of the year winner, became the first African player to score at three Women’s World Cups.

She was also part of a Barcelona feminine side that clinched a treble of trophies including League title, Spanish Supercopa and Champions League.

She scored 21 league goals in 28 games last season.

The 28-year-old is the only female representative from Africa for the second consecutive year.


Other notable nominees in the men’s category include Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappe.

Manchester City have seven players in the men’s nominees list.

Cristiano Ronaldo, five-time winner of the award, was however not nominated for the first time since 2003.

The winners of the award will be announced at a ceremony on October 30.

Men’s list of nominees:

  • Victor Osimhen (Napoli, Nigeria)
  • Andre Onana (Manchester United, Cameroon)
  • Karim Benzema (Al-Ittihad, France)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal, England)
  • Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)
  • Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid, England)
    Randal Kolo Muani (Paris St-Germain, France)
  • Bernardo Silva (Manchester City, Portugal)
  • Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli, Georgia)
  • Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan, Italy)
  • Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa, Argentina)
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)
  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway)
  • Martin Odegaard (Arsenal, Norway)
  • Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona, Germany)
  • Yassine Bounou (Sevilla, Morocco)
  • Julian Alvarez (Manchester City, Argentina)
  • Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid, Brazil)
  • Rodri (Manchester City, Spain)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid, France)
  • Lionel Messi (Inter Miami, Argentina)
  • Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan, Argentina)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona, Poland)
  • Kim Min-jae (Bayern Munich, South Korea)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain, France)
  • Harry Kane (Bayern Munich, England)
  • Josko Gvardiol (Manchester City, Croatia)
  • Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich, Germany)

Full list of women nominees:

  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Barcelona)
  • Aitana Bonmati (Spain and Barcelona)
  • Millie Bright (England and Chelsea)
  • Linda Caicedo (Colombia and Real Madrid)
  • Olga Carmona (Spain and Real Madrid)
  • Rachel Daly (England and Aston Villa)
  • Debinha (Brazil and North Carolina Courage/Kansas City)
  • Kadidiatou Diani (France and Lyon)
  • Mary Earps (England and Manchester United)
  • Patricia Guijarro (Spain and Barcelona)
  • Yui Hasegawa (Japan and Manchester City)
  • Amanda Ilestedt (Sweden and Paris St-Germain/Arsenal)
  • Sam Kerr (Australia and Chelsea)
  • Mapi Leon (Spain and Barcelona)
  • Katie McCabe (Republic of Ireland and Arsenal)
  • Hinata Miyazawa (Japan and MyNavi Sendai/Manchester United)
  • Lena Oberdorf (Germany and Wolfsburg)
  • Ewa Pajor (Poland and Wolfsburg)
  • Salma Paralluelo (Spain and Barcelona)
  • Alexandra Popp (Germany and Wolsburg)
  • Hayley Raso (Australia and Man City/Real Madrid)
  • Alba Redondo (Spain and Levante)
  • Guro Reiten (Norway and Chelsea)
  • Wendie Renard (France and Lyon)
  • Fridolina Rolfo (Sweden and Barcelona)
  • Jill Roord (Netherlands and Wolfsburg/Manchester City)
  • Khadija Shaw (Jamaica and Manchester City)
  • Sophia Smith (United States and Portland Thorns)
  • Georgia Stanway (England and Bayern Munich)
  • Daphne van Domselaar (Netherlands and Twente/Aston Villa)

This website uses cookies.