The Nation

FULL LIST: Senate reshuffles leadership of standing committees

BY Dyepkazah Shibayan


The senate has reshuffled the leadership of some of its 28 standing committees.

The rearrangement was announced by Senate President Godswill Akpabio on the floor of the upper legislative chamber on Tuesday.

While some senators were appointed to chair some of the committees, others were appointed as vice-chairpersons.

The senate’s 72 standing committees were initially constituted about three months ago shortly after the 10th senate was inaugurated in June.


But some senators have been sacked and new ones sworn in after decisions of the courts.

Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan, senator representing Kogi central, was appointed chairperson of the senate panel on local content, and Amos Yohanna, the lawmaker representing Adamawa north, who replaced Elisha Abbo, was appointed as vice-chairman of the committee on Niger Delta affairs.

Here is the full list of the reshuffled committees;

  • Steel committee; Patrick Udubueze (chair), Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan (vice-chair)
  • Tourism committee; Shuaibu Isa Lau (chair), Ireti Kingigbe (vice-chair)
  • Inter-Parliamentary affairs committee; Jimoh Ibrahim (chair)
  • State and local government affairs committee; Binos Yaroe (chair), Francis Fadahunsi (vice-chair)
  • National Atomic and Nuclear Energy committee; Sahabi Alhaji Yau (chair), Mustapha Khalid Ibrahim (vice-chair)
  • Youth and community engagement committee; Yemi Adaramodu (chair)
  • Sport development committee; Kawu Sumaila (chair), Ned Nwoko (vice-chair)
  • Niger Delta affairs committee; Babajide Ipinsagba (chair), Amos Kumai Yohanna (vice-chair)
  • Art, culture and creative economy committee; Onawo Ogoshi (chair), Okechukwu Ezea (vice-chair)
  • Defence committee; Joel Onowakpo (vice-chair)
  • Petroleum downstream committee; Ifeanyi Ubah (chair), Babajide Ipinsagba (vice-chair)
  • Solid minerals development committee; Sampson Ekong (chair)
  • Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) committee; Osita Ngwu (vice-chair)
  • Establishment and public services committee; Sunday Marshall Katung (vice-chair)
  • Housing committee; Aminu Tambuwal (chair), Victor Umeh (vice-chair)
  • Army committee; Syrial Fasuyi (vice-chair)
  • Water resources committee; Kenneth Eze (vice-chair)
  • Industries committee; Isa Shuiabu Lau (vice-chair)
  • National planning and economic affairs committee; Owolo
  • Navy committee – Nasir Zango Daura (vice-chair)
  • Social Welfare and poverty alleviation committee; Idiat Oluranti Adebule (chair)
  • Public Affairs and Public Procurement committee; Haruna Amanu (vice-chair)
  • Committee on local content committee; Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan (chair)
  • FCT Area Councils committee; Jim Kuta (chair), Saliu Mustapha (vice-chair)
  • Sustainable development growth committee; Muhammed Goje (chair), Patrick Ndubueze (vice-chair)
  • Higher institutions committee; Abba Moro (vice-chair)
  • Drugs and narcotics committee; Umar Sodiq (vice-chair)
  • Works committee; Mpigi Barnada (vice-chair)

This website uses cookies.