Wednesday, December 6, 2023


Germany, UAE… Air travel is getting ready for takeoff in these countries

Germany, UAE… Air travel is getting ready for takeoff in these countries
June 06
15:30 2020

Aviation was one of the hardest-hit industries by the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Countries across the world shut their land and air borders trying to stop the virus in its tracks and stop it from spreading.

Some airlines laid off staff and announced plans to cut back operations upon resumption.

The International Air Transport Association (IATA) estimates that air traffic fell by 95% in April.


“April was a disaster for aviation as air travel almost entirely stopped,” Alexandre de Juniac, IATA director-general, said.

“April may also represent the nadir of the crisis. Flight numbers are increasing. The industry has seen the bottom of the crisis, provided there is no recurrence.”

A few countries have begun to ease restrictions and adjust operations in line with social distancing measures to keep travellers safe.


In Nigeria, domestic flights are scheduled to resume on June 21 while the European Commission has agreed not to allow foreign flights into the zone until June 15.

Here is a list of countries that have announced flight resumption dates although some countries say the dates are dependent on the number of COVID-19 cases recorded.

Country Resumption dates for international flights (except otherwise stated)
Portugal June 15 (flights from outside EU not allowed)
Bali, Indonesia October
Nigeria June 21 (only domestic flights)
Malta July 1
Bahamas July 1
Maldives July 1
Germany June 15 (borders would only be open to EU member countries and citizens of UK, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein)
Seychelles June 1 (only private jets and chartered flights, commercial flights to resume)
Croatia May 29 (only to Slovak, Czech, Hungarian and Austrian citizens)
Aruba Between June 15 and July 1
United Arab Emirates (UAE) June 4 (Only for transit flights operated by Etihad, Emirates, Fly Dubai and Air Arabia via Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah airports)
Lebanon June 21
Saudi Arabia June 1 (Domestic flights only)
US Virgin Islands June 1
Cyprus June 9 (for an initial 19 countries, to be extended to 13 countries including Germany, Finland, Israel, Greece and Norway on June 20)
Greece June 15 (only for tourists from countries with acceptably low rates of virus infection)
Iceland June 15
Italy June 3 (For EU and Schengen area citizens)
Spain July 1
St Lucia and Antigua June 4 (open to US citizens)
South Africa June 1 (only for essential domestic flights)
Hong Kong June 1 (only transit passengers)
London City Airport End of June for domestic flights and early July for international flights
Luxembourg May 29

Click on the link below to join TheCable Channel on WhatsApp for your Breaking News, Business Analysis, Politics, Fact Check, Sports and Entertainment News!



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying.