Wednesday, September 23, 2020



INEC fixes Oct 31 for senatorial bye-elections in four states

INEC fixes Oct 31 for senatorial bye-elections in four states
August 11
21:04 2020

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed October 31 for bye-elections for some federal and state legislative houses.


Bayelsa central, Bayelsa west, Cross River north, Imo north, Lagos east and Plateau south are the constituencies without legislators at the senate.

Douye Diri and Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo, senators who represented Bayelsa central and Bayelsa west, were elected as governor and deputy governor of Bayelsa respectively.

While the senators who represented Cross River north, Imo north, Lagos east and Plateau south are dead.


In a statement on Tuesday, Festus Okoye, INEC commissioner for information and voter education committee, explained that the commission had suspended all bye-elections because of COVID-19.

Okoye said the commission has been able to develop “its policy on conducting elections in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic.”

“Several vacancies have occurred in both federal and state legislative houses as a result of resignation or death of members, affecting 12 constituencies across 8 States of the federation,” he said.


“The commission has also successfully conducted the bye-election to fill the vacancy in the Nasarawa Central State Constituency and is going ahead with the conduct of governorship elections in Edo and Ondo States on the 19th September and 10th October respectively. Consequently, the Commission is now in a position to schedule the following by-elections:

“Bayelsa Central Senatorial District, Bayelsa West Senatorial District, Nganzai State Constituency, Borno State, Bayo State Constituency, Borno State, Cross River North Senatorial District, Obudu State Constituency, Cross River State, Imo North Senatorial District, Lagos East Senatorial District, Kosofe II State Constituency, Lagos State, Plateau South Senatorial District, Bakura State Constituency, Zamfara State, Ibaji State Constituency, Kogi State

“The commission has scheduled all the pending by-elections for Saturday 31st October 2020.”

The commissioner said political parties would conduct their primary polls to nominate candidates for the various by-elections between August 24 and September 8.


“Submission of forms and personal particulars of candidates will commence on 9th September and close at 6pm on 13th September 2020,” he said.

“The commission implores concerned stakeholders, particularly political parties to take note of the timelines in the schedule and strictly adhere to them.”


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment