The Nation

Aisha Buhari named grand patron of APC women campaign team… Joke Silva, Abike Dabiri appointed into committees

Jesupemi Are

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has set up the Tinubu/Shettima women’s campaign team for the 2023 general election.

In a statement on Saturday, Rinsola Abiola, daughter of MKO Abiola and member of the team’s media and administrative committee, said Aisha Buhari, the first lady, will lead the campaign team as its grand patron.

She noted that Oluremi Tinubu, senator representing Lagos central, and Nana Shettima, wife of the APC vice-presidential candidate, will serve as chairman and co-chairman respectively.

According to Rinsola, Asabe Vilita Bashir, former member of the house of representatives from Borno, will serve as national coordinator while Lauretta Onochie, presidential aide, will serve as her deputy.


“The women’s campaign in the north-west zone will be coordinated by Zainab Bagudu, wife of the Kebbi state governor, while Falmata Zulum, first lady of Borno state, will be in charge of the north-east,” she said. 

“In a similar vein, Olufolake Abdulrazaq, first lady of Kwara state, will coordinate efforts in the north-central and Ibijoke Sanwoolu, wife of the Lagos state governor, will superintend over the south-west. The first lady of Imo state, Chioma Ikeaka-Uzodinma will also coordinate the south-east while Linda Ayade, wife of the Cross River state governor, will spearhead the women’s campaign in the south-south. 

“All governors’ wives are to serve as state coordinators in APC states, while notable APC women such as Florence Ajimobi, widow of the former governor of Oyo state and Zainab Ibrahim, the APC deputy national women leader, among others, were chosen to coordinate activities in states not controlled by the APC.


“The administrative committee is led by Wahab Alawiye-King, an influential Lagos politician and close associate of Oluremi Tinubu, who also doubles as the chairman of the committee on strategic planning. Also heading the committee on operations and logistics is Fatima Raji-Rasaki while Sarafa Modele-Yusuf, a seasoned media practitioner, is to head the media and strategic communications committee.

“The finance and special duties committee is to be headed by Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire, the former deputy governor of Lagos state and senior special assistant to the president, while the Diaspora Mobilisation Committee is to be chaired by none other than Abike Dabiri-Erewa.”

Rinsola also said its creative and entertainment industry committee includes Joke Silva, who will serve as its chairman, and other members such as Toyin Adegbola, Esther Wright, Rose Odika, Hadiza Kabara, Fathia Balogun and Sola Kosoko.

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies.