Tuesday, April 13, 2021



FG approves six private universities

FG approves six private universities
December 06
16:06 2017

The federal government has approved the establishment of six new private universities.


The approval was given Wednesday at the federal executive council meeting chaired by Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo.

Adamu Adamu, the minister of education, made this known to journalists at the end of the meeting.

The minister said the green light given for the set up of new institutions is part of steps taken to enable National Universities Commission (NUC) ensure maximum supervision in order to maintain required standards.


The approved institutions are Precious Cornerstone University, Ibadan; Admiralty Univerity, Ibusa, Delta state; Atiba University, Oyo state; Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences Lagos; Spiritan University, Nneochi, Abia state; and Pamo University of Medical Sciences, Port Harcourt, Rivers state.


  1. abdulnuhu
    abdulnuhu December 06, 16:27

    It seems like stakeholders are patronising the sector, but our worry over this the tuitions fee is still high, masses can not afford it.we need scholarships from NGO’s, and others.

    Reply to this comment
  2. ministersammie
    ministersammie December 06, 16:35

    We have enough universities,fg should create job opportunity…..

    Reply to this comment

Write a Comment