Friday, October 7, 2022


Cable Ads

Australia and New Zealand to host the Women’s World Cup in 2023

Australia and New Zealand to host the Women’s World Cup in 2023
June 25
17:20 2020

The Federation of International Football Associations (FIFA) has named Australia and New Zealand as joint hosts of the Women’s World Cup in 2023.

The decision was announced at the conclusion of voting held during the FIFA council meeting on Thursday.

The joint bid of Australia and New Zealand was chosen ahead of Colombia after gathering 22 votes from the 37-member FIFA council — nine higher than Colombia’s total of 12 votes — while two members abstained from voting.

The seven-member African contingent on the council all voted for Australia and New Zealand.


Gianni Infantino, FIFA president, who announced the winners at the end of the voting process, also thanked the bidders for “really well made” bids.

“Now, I can announce the host of the 2023 [Women] World Cup, which would hold in Australia and New Zealand. Thank you very much,” said Infantino.

“The bidding process was highly competitive. We would like to thank both of the bidders for their remarkable work. It was really, really well prepared. We have decided to award $1bn (£805m) to the development of women’s football in the coming four years.


“We experienced last year in France a fantastic Women’s World Cup. It broke all records. It brought women’s football to a truly global stage.”

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will be the first to be hosted across two continental confederations of Asia (Australia) and Oceania (New Zealand).

It will also be the first since inception to feature 32 countries, a further expansion from the 24-team format at France 2019.

The competition is scheduled to take place from July to August 2023. The United States of America are the reigning defending champions.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment