Friday, March 31, 2023



Sanwo-Olu takes strong lead in Lagos guber poll, wins 18 of 20 LGAs

Sanwo-Olu takes strong lead in Lagos guber poll, wins 18 of 20 LGAs
March 19
14:31 2023

Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the governor of Lagos, is leading in the governorship election of the state.

Sanwo-Olu is contesting against Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party (LP) and Abdul-Azeez Adediran of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the governorship position.

The incumbent governor has won all the 18 LGAs announced so far by officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Sanwo-Olu won in Ikeja, the LGA of the LP governorship candidate. He polled 32,273 votes to defeat Rhodes-Vivour who had 15,174 votes.


In his own LGA — Lagos Island — Sanwo-Olu won by a healthy margin.

The Lagos governor also won Surulere LGA, the base of Babatunde Fashola, minister of works and housing, and Femi Gbajabiamila, speaker of the house of representatives.

In Ojo, the LGA of the PDP candidate, Sanwo-Olu also posted a convincing victory. He secured 30,797 votes while the PDP candidate had 3,889 and Rhodes-Vivour polled 19,027.


The Lagos governor however lost to the LP candidate in Amuwo-Odofin LGA.

So far, the results from 19 of the 20 LGAs in the state have been announced.

The result of Eti-Osa — where election is rounding up — is the only outstanding.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment