Super Eagles to battle South Africa, Libya for AFCON 2019 place

The fixtures for the qualification games of the 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Cameroon was released by Confederation of African football (CAF) on Thursday night.

Nigeria, who has been absent from the last two nations cups are back in contention for a place as they are drawn in group E of the qualifiers and will compete with old foes South Africa, Libya and Seychelles.

The groups are all very competitive and Nigeria, African champions in 2013 are expected to make it from the group.

The qualifiers will kick off with the preliminary round which will be on March 20 to March 28, 2017.

Matchday 1 of the group stage qualifiers will run from June 5 to June 13, 2017.

‎Below are the groups and how the favourites and underdogs are spread into the 12 groups.

Group A: Senegal, Equatorial Guinea, Sudan, winner between Sao Tome and Principe and Madagascar

Group B: Cameroon, Morocco, Malawi, winner between Comoros and Mauritius.

Group C: Mali, Gabon, Burundi and winner between Djibouti and South Sudan.

Group D: Algeria, Togo, Benin and Gambia.

Group E: Nigeria, South Africa, Libya, Seychelles

Group F: Ghana, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, Kenya

Group G: Congo DR! Congo, Zimbabwe, Liberia

Group H: Ivory Coast‎, Guinea, Central Africa Republic

Group I: Burkina Faso, Angola, Botswana, Mauritania

Group J: Tunisia, Egypt, Niger, Swaziland

Group K: Zambia, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Namibia

Group L: Cape Verde, Uganda, Tanzania, Lesotho‎