Tuesday, March 5, 2024


Lagos assembly refuses to clear 17 commissioner nominees

Lagos assembly refuses to clear 17 commissioner nominees
August 23
18:09 2023

The Lagos house of assembly on Wednesday declined the confirmation of 17 nominees recommended by Babajide Sanwo-Olu, governor of the state, for commissioners and special advisers.

The state lawmakers at the plenary confirmed 22 out of the 39 nominees.

In July, Sanwo-Olu sent the list containing names of 39 nominees as commissioners and special advisers in his cabinet.

Those nominated by the governor include Gbenga Omotosho; Sam Egube; Akin Abayomi; Aramide Adeyoye; Tokuno Wahab; Rotimi Ogunwuyi; Gbenga Oyeriinde; Lawal Pedo; Mobolaji Ogunlende; Dolapo Fasawe and Toke Benson-Awoyinka.


The house of assembly has since carried out the screening of the nominees.

At Wednesday’s plenary, Mudashiru Obasa, speaker of the assembly, called the names of the nominees one by one while the lawmakers responded with either nay or aye.

At the end of the exercise, 17 of the nominees, including Gbenga Omotosho, former commissioner of information, and Akin Abayomi, ex-commissioner of health were not confirmed by the assembly.


The speaker asked the clerk of the house to forward the names of those cleared to the governor.

Obasa urged the nominees cleared to diligently serve the people of Lagos, adding that they are accountable to the residents and not the governor or speaker.



Click on the link below to join TheCable Channel on WhatsApp for your Breaking News, Business Analysis, Politics, Fact Check, Sports and Entertainment News!


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying.