Tuesday, September 26, 2023


Lagos assembly to revisit Pedro’s impeachment

Lagos assembly to revisit Pedro’s impeachment
July 02
18:36 2015

The Lagos state house of assembly on Thursday constituted an eight member ad hoc committee to review the circumstances that led to the impeachment of Femi Pedro, former deputy governor of the state.

This followed an appeal made by Pedro in a letter read on the floor of the house by Ganiyu Abiru, the clerk.

Pedro appealed to the 8th assembly to revisit the sanction leveled against him by the 5th assembly.

He was impeached on May 11, 2007, exactly two weeks to the end his tenure with Bola Tinubu, former governor of the state.


Rotimi Olowo (APC-Shomolu I), urged the assembly to reverse the impeachment since it was not based on fraud or criminal tendencies.

He argued that the tone of the letter showed that the former governor was remorseful of his action while in office.

“The purpose of the impeachment is not traceable to fraud or misconduct, probably because of high-handedness or lack of respect for constituted authority,” he said.


“Mr Speaker, I suggest we set up an ad hoc committee to either sustain or revisit the resolution of the 5th assembly.”

Abiodun Tobun (APC-Epe 1), urged the assembly to be very careful in its approach to the ex-deputy governor’s prayer.

Tobun said many of them were not present when the impeachment took place.

“We have to look critically at the circumstances surrounding the impeachment process so that we do not err.”


Moshood Oshun (Lagos mainland II), said the need to follow due process before taking decision on the plea by the ex-deputy governor.

“We can’t base any submission on an assumption. Though, the tone of the letter is an appeal, yet an ad hoc committee would have to be set up to look into the issue critically.”

Mudashiru Obasa, speaker of the assembly, constituted an eight man ad hoc committee headed by the Sanai Agunbiade, majority leader.

Members include: Desmond Elliot (APC-Surulere I); Folajimi Mohammed (APC-Ikeja I), Muyiwa Jimoh (APC-Apapa II), and Mr Kazeem Alimi (APC-Eti-Osa I).


Others are: Shokunle Hakeem (PDP- Oshodi-Isolo I); Gbolahan Yishawu (APC- Eti-Osa II); Moshood Oshun (APC- Lagos Mainland II).



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying!