Wednesday, August 10, 2022


Lagos, Oyo, Niger, Akwa Ibom… states where APC, PDP held parallel congresses

Lagos, Oyo, Niger, Akwa Ibom… states where APC, PDP held parallel congresses
October 17
08:52 2021

Parallel congresses were conducted in several states across the country as the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) elected their state executives on Saturday.

While the exercise went smoothly in most states, there were incidents of violence and attempted disruption in a few states.

The most common trend in several states was the emergence of two sets of executive members.

In Oyo, two sets of executives emerged when different factions of the PDP in the state held parallel congresses in Ibadan.


The faction of Seyi Makinde, the governor, held its congress at the main bowl of the Lekan Salami Sports Complex, Adamasingba, Ibadan while the aggrieved PDP members led by Mulikat Adeola-Akande, former majority leader of the house of representatives, held their congress at Jogor Centre, Liberty Road, off Ring Road, Ibadan.

Announcing the congress results held by the faction of Makinde, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, governor of Enugu and the congress chairman, declared Dayo Ogungbenro as the PDP state chairman.

On the other hand, Michael Okunlade emerged as the chairman of the Adeola-Akande-led faction.


In Osun, the APC factions in the state also held parallel congresses to elect the new leadership of the party.

The Ilerioluwa Group — faction loyal to Gboyega Oyetola, governor of the state — reelected Gboyega Famodun as its chairman while the Osun Progressives (TOP) — the faction loyal to Rauf Aregbesola, ex-governor of the state — elected Rasaq Salinsile as its chairman.

In Lagos, Cornelius Ojelabi emerged as the APC party chairman in the state through consensus, while another faction — Lagos4Lagos Movement — elected Sunday Ajayi as its chairman.

Meanwhile, the PDP congress in Lagos was suspended as a result of gunshots inside the Tafawa Balewa Square venue.


In Ogun, loyalists of Dapo Abiodun, governor of the state, elected Yemi Sanusi as the new chairman of the party while the faction of Ibikunle Amosun, ex-governor of the state, elected Derin Adebiyi as its chairman.

The Niger chapter of the APC also conducted two parallel congresses in the state. Haliru Jikantoro emerged as the chairman of a faction recognised by Mai Mala Buni, the governor, while another faction elected Nasiru Ubandiya as its chairman.

In Enugu, the two factions of the APC produced Adolphus Ude and Ugochukwu Agballah as chairmen — meaning the state also has two sets of executives.

In Kwara, Bashir Bolarinwa was elected as the APC chairman of the state by a faction backed by Lai Mohammed, minister of information and culture.


On the other hand, Sunday Fagbemi emerged as chairman of the faction loyal to AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, governor of Kwara.

Abia state was also not left out in the wave of parallel congresses sweeping across the APC.


Meanwhile, in Akwa Ibom, the group loyal to Godswill Akpabio, minister of Niger Delta affairs, elected Steve Ntukekpo as its chairman while Austin Ekanem emerged as the chairman of the Akpan Udoedeghe-led faction.



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment