Saturday, February 8, 2020

Mikel, Ighalo, Iheanacho make Siasia’s Olympics list

Mikel, Ighalo, Iheanacho make Siasia’s Olympics list
June 24
14:04 2016

Mikel Obi, Odion Ighalo, and Alex Iwobi, are in the 35-man Olympics list, which Samson Siasia, head coach of the U-23 team, released on Friday.

The list is expected to be trimmed down to 21 ahead the competition, which kicks off in Rio, Brazil, on August 5.

Some of the young talented players in the list are: Ogenekaro Etebo, Musa Muhammed, Stanley Amuzie, Kingsley Madu, Taiwo Awoniyi.

Nigeria will face Sweden, Colombia and Japan in Group B of the preliminary round of the 2016 Olympics men’s football event.

Expectations are high that the current squad will repeat the feat of the Kanu Nwankwo-led ‘Dream Team’, which won the championship in 1996.

The last time Nigeria got to the final round of the Olympics was at Beijing 2008. The team lost out to the Argentine side inspired by Lionnel Messi in the final.

Interestingly, it was Siasia who led the Nigerian Squad to pick a silver medal at that competition.

Below is the 35-man list:

  • Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa FC, South Africa)
  • Yusuf Bala (Kano Pillars)
  • Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers)
  • Taiwo Abdulrahman (Kwara United)
  • Ndubuisi Agu (FC Porto, Portugal)
  • Junior Ajayi (CS Sfaxien, Tunisia)
  • Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense FC, Portugal),
  • Taiwo Awoniyi (Frankfurt FC, Germany)
  • Okechukwu Azubuike (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey)
  • Etor Daniel (Enyimba FC)
  • Augustine Dimgba (Sunshine Stars)
  • William Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway)
  • Saturday Erimuya (Kayseri Erciyespor, Turkey)
  • Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense FC, Portugal)
  • Imoh Ezekiel (Anderlecht, Belgium)
  • Saviour Godwin (Ostende, Belgium)
  • Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England)
  • Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England)
  • Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)
  • Emiloju Julius (MFM FC)
  • Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia)
  • John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England)
  • Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey)
  • Usman Muhammed (CF Uniao, Portugal)
  • Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium)
  • Erhun Obanor (MFM FC)
  • Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey)
  • Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea FC, England)
  • Sodiq Saliu (Seraing FC, Belgium)
  • Abdullahi Shehu (CF Uniao, Portugal)
  • Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)
  • Seth Sincere (Rhapsody FC)
  • Ndifreke Udo (Abia Warriors)
  • Aminu Umar (Osmalispor, Turkey)
  • Sadiq Umar (AS Roma, Italy)


WHATSAPP 08113975334
TWITTER @thecableng
Copyright 2020 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Social Comments


No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked *



Exchange Rates

February 04, 2019USDGBPEUR
NOTE: The black market rates represent the most prevalent. They could be slightly higher or lower among different sellers.