Thursday, May 23, 2024
Advertisement Topt


Nasarawa sets up committee to probe sale of government assets under Al-Makura

Nasarawa sets up committee to probe sale of government assets under Al-Makura
September 26
18:22 2023

The Nasarawa house of assembly has constituted a nine-man committee to investigate the alleged sales of government assets by the past administration.

Speaking during the plenary on Tuesday, Ibrahim Abdullahi, speaker of the house, said the committee is mandated to look into the sale of government properties by the administration of Tanko Al-Makura, former governor of the state.

The issue was presented to the house as a matter of public interest by Mohammed Omadefu, the majority leader.

Abdullahi asked the committee to visit Lagos to probe the alleged sales of the Nasarawa liaison office in the state.


He said the house had earlier resolved to allow the former administration to sell the Nasarawa’s assets in other states.

He added that it was not clear whether the properties were sold or the proceeds were used for the development of the state.

“Yes, this house under my watch has passed a resolution directing the former government to sell the state properties in Lagos and other states for infrastructure development as requested by the past governor,” NAN quoted Abdullahi as saying.


“With what we have seen in the media yesterday that the security men have sent indigenes of the state staying in our Lagos Liaison office out of the structure, was unfortunate.

“We feel bad and disappointed about that. The protest has given a bad image to our state and the government of Nasarawa state.

“Because after the approval by the house in 2017 we never heard anything about it again, not to talk of making any appropriation for it.

“And who is the beneficiary/beneficiary of the sales of the properties?


“All those that are involved must be invited for clarification such as the office of the SSG, accountant general and board of Internal Revenue Service.”

Members of the committee include Larry Bawa, chief whip of the house, as chairman of the panel, Iliya Zhekaba, minority leader, Musa Ibrahim, and Mohammed Omadefu.

Others are Suleiman Azara, Danladi Jatau, Saidu Gude, Mohammed Isimbabi, Mohammed Oyanki and Ibrahim Musa, the deputy clerk as the secretary of the committee.


Click on the link below to join TheCable Channel on WhatsApp for your Breaking News, Business Analysis, Politics, Fact Check, Sports and Entertainment News!



No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

error: Content is protected from copying.